North Wales Under 13 and Under 15 golfers at Wrexham Golf Club

On a day which drew together the very best of the North Wales Under 13 and Under 15 golfers to Wrexham Golf Club for their annual championships, twelve year old Thomas Williams of the home club drew on all his reserves to win both competitions with gross scores of 77 and 72 for a total of 149.

The Under 13’s play just eighteen holes as befits their years, but the under 15’s play a further eighteen for a thirty six holes event at both scratch and net levels.

By lunchtime, Thomas was aware that he had done something special by handing in the best morning gross of 77 to win the Under 13 title, only for him to go out again in the afternoon and return a score some five strokes better for a 72, and the Under 15 championship as well.

His total of 149 led Keiron Robinson of Anglesey Golf Club by four shots and Danny Reeves of Old Padeswood in third place by a further stroke.

Runner up in the Under 13’s was Daniel Lloyd of Wrexham with 81, the net prize going to Will. J. Edwards of Pennant Park golf club with 99 – 28 – 71 from Lewis MacKenzie of Wrexham on 96 – 25 – 71, the rank order being decided on the back nine holes.

Daniel’s score was sufficient to win the Under 15’s net award with 70 + 65 for 135. Harri O. Jones of Abergele golf club came second in this category with 72 + 64  -136, with Luke A. Wilson in third place with 70 + 67 for 137.

Starting at 9.00 a.m. in the morning, the final cards were handed in by 7.40 p.m. after the 36 holes Under 15 event. In the absence of Bill Jones of Llangefni, the North Wales Counties Golf Association, the event was run by Randall Richards of Golf Union Wales and the Anglesey Golf Union and prizes were presented by Colin Sheldon, President of the Association in the presence of Ted Lloyd, Golf Union Wales President, and Jim Johnson, the President of the host club with Elizabeth Urain of Anglesey as recorder and results Officer, and Bruce Carlyle as starter for the day.

The event was sponsored by Dwyfor Coffee of Nevin, and appreciation was expressed at the presentation for their generous involvement in the event.

Our attention is now drawn to the Welsh Boys under 13 and 15 and, simultaneously, the Welsh Under 16 girls to be held at Abergele on August 19th. won the longest drive and A Cartwright took the nearest the pin on the 12th Hole.

At the other end of the maturity spectrum we have the wonderful achievement of  eighty two year old Nev Rawcliffe who played in a Veterans match for the Vale of Llangollen and had his second hole in one on the 10th hole at Padeswood and Buckley to help his team to an away win by six matches to four.. He had his first hole in one in Kilkenny, Ireland “sometime in the eighties” but on this occasion went home clutching a dozen golf balls –well done.

Andy Harris of the Wrexham County Borough Council Leisure department informs me that there are still some places left in the Carlsberg Lager day to be held in Wrexham golf club on Wednesday 25th August and forms for entry can be obtained from club secretaries or the Wrexham web site or Andy direct on 01691 778666.

Clays golf club enjoyed a very busy few days just recently as the following results will indicate. The Clays Carlsberg Day resulted in a win for Jamie Seddon with 40 points, helped no doubt by an eagle 2 on the par four 7th hole which is stroke index one. second came Richard Ackersley with 38 points followed by club captain Howard Lloyd on 36; Alex Mansley with 36 and A. Almond with 35. Richard

In the Senior medal, Ray Martin again reaffirmed his consistency with 77 – 9 – 68 from Don Wraight on 79 – 10 – 69 and Mike carding with 83 – 13 – 70 Den Murphy was in fourth place with Derek Lyon fifth and Eifion Wyn Jenkins in sixth

The Club Championships took place over the last weekend and witnessed a win for Mike Evans with a gross 133 (67 + 66) followed By Andy Evans on 137 (66+71) and then Rhys Millington in third place with 140 (68 + 72).

The Ladies’ champion was Joanne Beddows with 149 (78 + 71)

Winner of the Rowland Cup for the best net score was Andy Matthews playing off 10 handicap with a net 131 followed by Mike Evans, 133; and Nigel Davies and Rhys Millington in joint third place.

The Ladies’ Harcombe Trophy for the best net score went to Kim Harcombe with net 151.

The Seniors’ Trophy played on Tuesday of last week resulted in a win for Tony Jackson with net 65 from Frank Carroll on 68 and then Gordon Roberts with 70.

The Seniors’ Individual Stableford which was played last Thursday went to Vinny Simpson on 37 points from Reg Taylor on 36 and then Brian Felgate with 36

Leave a Reply